Lincoln elected president

On November 6, 1860, voters across America went to the polls and elected Abraham Lincoln president which set the stage for the American Civil War. Here are the results of the election:

Abraham Lincoln (Republican) received 180 electoral votes and 1,865,908 popular votes

John C Breckinridge (Southern Democratic) received 72 electoral votes and 848,019 popular votes

John Bell (Constitutional Union) received 39 electoral votes and 590,901 popular votes

Stephan Douglas (Northern Democratic) received 12 electoral votes and 1,380,202 popular votes.

Lincoln won the following states: California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey (4 electoral votes), New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Breckinridge won Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Texas

Bell won Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia.

Douglas won Missouri and New Jersey (3 electoral votes)

One Response to Lincoln elected president