2020 Primary Election Results

Democratic Primary Election Results

U.S. Senate – Edward J. Markey. Incumbent Edward J. Markey (685,140 with 6,082 in Lowell) defeated Joseph P. Kennedy III (553,036 with 6,707 in Lowell).

House of Representatives – Lori Loureiro Trahan. Incumbent Lori Loureiro Trahan was unopposed.

Governor’s Council – Eileen R. Duff. Incumbent Eileen R. Duff was unopposed.

State Senate – 1st Middlesex – Edward J. Kennedy Jr. Incumbent Edward J. Kennedy Jr. was unopposed.

State Representative – 16th Middlesex – Thomas A. Golden Jr. Incumbent Thomas A. Golden Jr. was unopposed.

State Representative – 17th Middlesex – Vanna Howard. Vanna Howard (2,681) defeated incumbent David M. Nangle (1,966) and Lisa Arnold (1,474).

State Representative – 18th Middlesex – Rady Mom. Incumbent Rady Mom was unopposed.

Register of Probate – Tara Decristofaro. Incumbent Tara Decristofaro was unopposed.

Several Congressional races may also be of interest:

1st Congressional District – Incumbent Richard Neal (74,402) defeated Alex Morse (51,986).

The 1st District covers western Massachusetts and includes the cities of Springfield and Pittsfield. Neal was elected to Congress in 1988 and now serves as chair of the House Ways and Means Committee and chair of the Joint Committee on Taxation. Morse has served as mayor of Holyoke since 2012.

2nd Congressional District – James McGovern was unopposed.

4th Congressional District – nine candidates: With 90 percent of the votes cast, the race is too close to call with Jake Auchincloss leading Jesse Mermell by about 100 votes. The other candidates in the race were:

Alan Khazei
David Cavell
Ihssane Leckey
Benjamin Sigel
Becky Grossman
Natalia Linos
Christopher Zannetos

The 4th District includes 34 cities and towns including Brookline, Newton, Hopkinton, Foxborough, Taunton and Fall River. The seat is currently held by Joseph P. Kennedy III.

5th Congressional District – Katherine Clark was unopposed.

6th Congressional District – Incumbent Seth Moulton (94,928) defeated Jamie Belsito (15,365) and Angus McQuilken (12,398). The district includes the North Shore to the New Hampshire border and includes Greater Lowell communities of Billerica, Tewksbury and Wilmington.

7th Congressional District – Ayanna Pressley was unopposed.

8th Congressional District – Incumbent Stephen Lynch (95,388) defeated Robbie Goldstein (49,146). The 8th District includes parts of Boston, all of Quincy and Brockton, and a number of towns on the South Shore and southwest of Boston.

9th Congressional District – Bill Keating was unopposed.

Republican Primary Election Results

U.S. Senate – Kevin J. O’Connor. Kevin J. O’Connor (138,505) defeated Shiva Ayyadurai (92,095).