In the Merrimack Valley: Some Local Housing Authority Stats

Today’s Eagle Tribune gives us a look at some Merrimack Valley Housing Authority executive director salaries,  number of units supervised along with some history,  commentary and comparisons. It’s an article worth a read here at

To get you started here’s a list* from the Brian Messenger article:

Executive Director Pay

Lawrence    Don O’Neill $146,700

*Methuen    Ken Martin $129,734

Haverhill    Dennis Soraghan $80,019

North Andover   Joanne Comerford $74,013

Andover      Christine Metzemaekers $69,330

*Martin also earns about $53,000 directing Ayer Housing Authority

(Source: Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development)

Lawrence Housing Authority

Budget: $20 million

Housing units: 2,500

Board members: David DiFilippo (chairman), Zorayda Geronimo, Patrick Driscoll, Richard Fielding, Teresa Mejia

Methuen Housing Authority

Budget: $7.1 million

Housing units: 1,050

Board members: Kathleen Mulligan, Robert Sheehan, Scott Tisbert, Joan Mannke, Arthur Broadhurst

Haverhill Housing Authority

Budget: $7.2 million

Housing units: 950

Board members: Harry Kalashian (chairman), Dorothy Early, Frank Novak, Doris McGirr, Joseph Sullivan

Andover Housing Authority

Budget: $2.2 million

Housing units: 412

Board members: James Cuticchia (chairman), Calvin Deyermond, Frank O’Connor, Daniel Grams, Janice Burkholder

Information from North Andover Housing Authority not available.

(Source: Local housing authority executive directors)



There are about 250 local housing authorities state-wide. See full list here on the Department of  Housing and Community Development (DHCD) website. For those who want to do their own research check out the “Executive Director Salary and Qualifications Schedule” issued in 2007 – to get started.  It was referred to again in the 2011 budget guidelines.