Preliminary Election on Tuesday

The city of Lowell will hold its preliminary election for the city council this Tuesday, September 24, 2019. Polls will be open from 7am until 8pm. A list of polling places is available on the city website.

Lowell Votes, a nonpartisan, grassroots organization that seeks to increase turnout in local elections in Lowell, has created an excellent Voter Guide which is available online. The guide contains information about all 20 candidates.

On Tuesday, you may vote for up to 9 of these candidates. The top 18 finishers will advance to the General Election on November 5, 2019.

Since there are only 11 school committee candidates, all will advance to the November election so there will be no preliminary election for the school committee (although the Lowell Votes guide includes the school committee candidates).

Here are the council candidates who will appear on the ballot on Tuesday:

  • Vesna Nuon
  • Jeff Thomas
  • Corey Belanger
  • Alexandra Amparo-Del Villar
  • Marty Lorrey
  • John Drinkwater
  • Ty Chum
  • Dave Ouellette
  • Dave Conway
  • Juan Castaneda
  • Bill Samaras
  • Rita Mercier
  • Sokhary Chau
  • Karen Cirillo
  • Harry Kortikere
  • John Leahy
  • Rodney Elliott
  • Marty Hogan
  • Jose “Willie” Negron
  • Daniel Rourke