Democratic delegate selection caucus

Yesterday Democrats gathered all over Massachusetts to select delegates to attend the 2012 Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina from September 3 to 6, 2012. The delegate selections were done at Congressional District caucuses. Each Congressional District elected four male delegates, four female delegates and one alternate. The 3rd Congressional District caucus – remember, we’re no longer the 5th District – was held at the Lowell Elks Club.

The four female delegates elected were Faye Morrison of Ayer, Lisa Wong of Fitchburg, Gail Poulten of Chelmsford and Patricia Commane of Andover. The four male delegates were Pavel Payano of Lawrence, Thomas McGrath of Pepperell, Sam Poulten of Chelmsford and Curtis LeMay of Lowell. The alternate was Susan LeMay of Lowell.

Elected official who were present included Congresswoman Niki Tsongas, State Senator Eileen Donoghue, State Representative Tom Golden, Fitchburg Mayor Lisa Wong, Lowell City Councilors Marty Lorrey and Ed Kennedy, Lowell School Committee members Kristin Ross-Sitcawich and Robert Gignac, Tyngsborough selectman Elizabeth Coughlin, Nashoba Technical High School members Sam Poulten and Don Ayer, Lawrence School Committee member Pavel Payano and Middlesex North Register of Deeds Richard P. Howe Jr (me). Also present were Eileen Duff who is a candidate for Governor’s Council and Mara Dolan who is a candidate for State Senator in the 3rd Middlesex District which includes Chelmsford.