Tewksbury and Billerica election results

The towns of Tewksbury and Billerica held their municipal elections today. Here are some of the results from Tewksbury Patch:

In Tewksbury, incumbent selectmen David Gay (2600 votes) and Scott Wilson (2195) were reelected, defeating challengers Ken Miano (1572) and Robert Marcin (1155). On the Board of Health, incumbent Edward Sheehan (2243) and challenger Kathleen Brothers (2368) won while incumbent Mary Ellen Fernald (1993) was defeated. On the planning board, incumbent Nancy Reed (2548) defeated challenger Ed Sullivan (1455). On the school committee, incumbent Dennis Francis and challenger James Cutelis won – two candidates for two seats. For Shawsheen Tech School Committee, former Tewksbury School Committee member Michael Kelley (2345) defeated longtime incumbent Peter Downing (1536). Perhaps the biggest issue in Tewksbury today was a referendum on whether to build a new athletic field/complex. It was defeated by a sizable margin with 2914 No votes to 1465 Yes votes. Turnout was 21%.

In Billerica, in the race for a single seat on the Board of Selectmen. First-term incumbent Andrew Deslaurier won reelection. For town moderator, incumbent Gil Moreira was reelected over challenger Michael Moore.