Final meeting for Caulfield, Milinazzo & Descoteaux

Above from left: Brian Martin, Bill Martin, Jim Milinazzo, Rita Mercier, Niki Tsongas, Richard Howe Sr, Bud Caulfield, Armand LeMay; from October 2010 in front of Lowell City Hall.

Tonight is the final city council meeting (for now, at least) for three councilors. The meeting begins at 6:30 pm and will be televised live on Lowell’s cable channel 10 and will stream on the website of Lowell Telecommunications.

Bud Caulfield (second from right in the above photo) began his council career in 1987 with a 5th place finish. He went on to serve twelve consecutive terms, consistently finishing near the top of the ticket in city elections. Bud served as mayor twice, in 1996-97 and in 2008-09. He did not seek reelection in 2011.

Jim Milinazzo (third from left in the above photo) came onto the council in 2003 with a strong 3rd place finish after having finished 10th in the previous election. He won reelection in 2005, 2007 and 2009 and served as mayor in 2010-11. He was unsuccessful in this 2011 reelection effort, finishing 12th.

Franky Descoteaux served a single term on the city council after finishing a strong 3rd in 2009. In that election, she and Patrick Murphy were credited with being the first candidates for local office in Lowell to make electronic media central to their successful campaigns. Descoteaux has not ruled out running for public office again in the future.

Thank you to these three dedicated public officials for their years of service to the city of Lowell.