Lowell State Rep districts remain intact

The proposed redistricting map that was released the the legislature’s Joint Committee on Redistricting this afternoon left the three state representative seats in Lowell almost entirely intact. In fact, the only change I could see from the current district occurred in the 16th Middlesex, now represented by Tom Golden. The only change in that district involved a swap of wards in Chelmsford, with the 16th losing Chelmsford ward 8 and gaining ward 6. So the 16th Middlesex (Golden) would consist of Chelmsford’s wards 2, 3 and 6 and Lowell’s wards 5, 6 and 9 (all precincts).

The 17th Middlesex, now held by Dave Nangle, would stay the same with Chelmsford’s ward 4 along with all of Lowell’s wards 1, 10 and 11 plus ward 2, precinct 3 and ward 4, precincts 2 and 3.

The 18th Middlesex, now held by Kevin Murphy, is being identified as a “minority majority” district but its geographical makeup doesn’t change under the new plan. The 18th Middlesex does and will (if the new plan is approved) consist of Lowell wards 3, 7 and 8 plus ward 2, precincts 1 and 2 and ward 4, precinct 1.

There are no changes proposed in the 1st Middlesex Senate District, now held by Eileen Donoghue. It does and will consist of Lowell, Tyngsborough, Westford, Dunstable, Groton and Pepperell.